List engagement & removing non-engaged subscribers

In the past IP reputation & segmenting types of email to different IP’s was the obvious delivery tactic for many email senders.  But now the combination of domain reputation and engagement is increasingly making deliverability quite a challenge for some senders.

We have had many people contact us to help remove non-engaged subscribers.  We even had some internal tools to help do this on-demand.  We recently took a little time to add the capability into everyone’s account so you can manage your engagement and clean up any subscribers that have not engaged in a specific time period.

When you click “View Cleanup Options” you have the option to either remove all subscribers who have not engaged ever or anyone who have not engaged within a specific time period.

You can find this new page by going to Lists. Next to each list there is a down arrow. Clicking the down arrow will display a list of options. Click “Engagement Management” to navigate to this feature.

A trial is worth a thousand words.
Get started today, no credit card required.

 
 
  • AWESOME addition, guys, I’m a big believer in cleaning up your lists to remove people who don’t engage.

  • Great new tool help keep your target audience active and engaging

  • Jon Salinger

    What version is this on?

    • jvandeboom

      This is currently only available in the standard ActiveCampaign service (not the on-site edition at this time — although I could see it being added in the future to on-site)

  • Yeh, but what if someone was just added and haven’t had time to engage?

    • This is why we allow you to set time ranges of 3 months 6 months etc.

  • Café com Coaching

    Where can I find “Engagement” in this section? This feature still existes?!

  • h2oMatt

    Is this still located at: Lists > Advanced Options > Engagement?

    I just went to lists and don’t see an ‘Advanced Options’ option. Wondering if this post was written for an old version of AC.

    If so, where can list clean up be located now?

    Thanks

    • Brian Gladu

      Yes, the location of this feature has changed slightly since this post was published. It’s still located in Lists but you access it by clicking the down arrow next to each list. Here is a short video showing where to find it:

      http://screen.ac/2Y333s1e2k2r

      I’ll update this post to reflect the change, thank you for bringing it to our attention.

      • h2oMatt

        Thanks for the quick response and also the video Brian.

        Very helpful and much appreciate :)

        Matt

        • Brian Gladu

          No problem, Matt. Here to help!

  • Have been using ActiveCampaign for years, but just found out about this. Great feature!

    • Although it’s also a bit scary to use. It would be great to see beforehand what the effects, in terms of numbers, would be. And maybe some more settings in regards to what kind of engagement/non-engagement to take into account

      • Brian Gladu

        Great suggestion, Philipp. Thanks for your feedback.

  • Brandon Pugsley

    This is a good feature. Is there a way to flag/tag these users who haven’t engaged based upon a timeframe? I’d like to run a “re-engagement” campaign before I move them off the system…

    • Brian Gladu

      Hi Brandon,

      Yes, in app we offer two automations that work together to tag contacts as Engaged, Disengaged, or Inactive based on the amount of time that has passed since their last interaction with your campaigns, website, or app. You can also add a “Recent Activity” tag to note contacts who have engaged in the past week or so. You can find these automations in the “Track Contacts” category of the automation menu that appears when you click “New Automation.”

  • Robert Royster

    So once we run this tool does that reduce our people on All Contacts list? Can we then reduce our plan to match our newly reduced list? If I import a list from a lead magnet that has their name still on there will it reimport that deleted person?

    • Brian Gladu

      It may reduce your subscribers, yes. Yes, you’re then able to reduce your plan (assuming enough contacts were removed).

      If you import this contact again, it will add them again. It doesn’t block the contacts it removes.